David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

What have you done to David Reviews?

A lot. As well as all the cosmetic changes, we've updated all the gubbins behind the scenes and you should now find that your searches are much faster than they were.

The changes are going to enable us to enhance the service over the coming weeks and months - we hope you'll like what you see.

Speaking of searches, what's happened to the advanced search?

It's coming back. Having made such a fundamental overhaul of the whole site, we've had to rebuild everything from scratch and although we planned to complete this task over the Christmas break, we didn't quite manage it.

An improved version of the 'advanced search' will be in place by Monday 27th January.

Where are the news stories?

We're being sent more and more news stories all the time and we want to do them justice. By 24th January, they will have been re-introduced and we think you'll like the new format.

It sounds like it's been a lot of work?

It's good of you to notice.

You wouldn't believe how much work it's been. Managing the transition while continuing to stay up to date with all the latest work has been a Herculean task. But we're getting there.

When will the newsletter be back? We love the newsletter.

The Newsletter is now back. If you're not receiving it, please email us.

And we're glad you like the newsletter... we like it too.

Who is David?

When we first launched in 2002, we were selling DVD subscriptions and DaViD was a complex acronym that stood for 'advertising intelligence on DVD'. It also enabled us to position ourselves as 'David' against the 'Goliath' that was Xtreme Information. Are they still going?

When we launched the web site, it turned out that our audience liked it better than the DVDs so we switched our focus to that and even though the name didn't really make sense any more we kept it.

Can I call you David when I phone?

Why the hell not... everyone else does?

Where are my lists?

The lists are now back online and you can add to them and create new lists. Soon you'll be able to change the running order and delete clips from lists.

Aren't you going to have to amend this page as soon as you've delivered all these promises?

Er, good point. Or sneakily move the dates if we don't quite make it.

We don't have a subscription. How much does it cost?

A Standard Company subscription costs £599 plus VAT (if applicable) and a Premium subscription costs £999 plus VAT (if applicable). Just phone Jason Stone on 0141 776 7766.

Don't you have some kind of e-commerce so we can buy online?

It's a-coming.

QUESTIONS

What's happened to the advanced search?

Where are the news stories?

When will you start sending the newsletter again?

Who is David?

How much for a subscription?
QUICK SEARCH

On This Day

Walkers Sensations
"Charlotte"
30s
26 Apr 2006
Charlotte Church joins the list of co-stars for Gary Lineker in an ad that echoes a classic Campari commercial. The Welsh singer rests languidly in an exotic setting when the jug-eared ex-footballer says: "don't you just love the Orient?" To which she replies, "No. I support Cardiff. Muppet."

Drench
"Fire Engine"
40s
26 Apr 2011
This is one of two new commercials for Drench which are, ironically enough, dryly delivered descriptions of a special institute where they're conducting experiments in rehydration. In this ad, a line of people have a fire hose turned on them to see how well this works when it comes to providing them with the water they need.

O2
"Private Gig"
60s
26 Apr 2011
Tinie Tempah gives a personal performance to a single member of his audience in this charming ad for O2 which aims to show how the telecommunications giant does everything it can for its customers. It's a clever way of turning the T-Mobile conceit on its head and, if you watch the longer version at their website, you'll be left with no doubt that this was done for real.

Marks & Spencer
"Shwopping"
50s
26 Apr 2012
Joanna Lumley introduces a major new marketing initiative for Marks & Spencer. The clothing retailer is asking its customers to recycle their old clothes when they buy something new. Apparently, Oxfam are on board for this pioneering initiative and M&S are plainly hoping that the opportunity to do some good will provide an extra incentive to punters.

Weetabix Biscuits
"Morning In Reverse"
60s
26 Apr 2013
The horror of a woman's morning is shown in reverse in this ad for a new product from the people who brought us Weetabix. After she has finished describing it to a colleague, she's faced by her cheery boss who assures her that there's plenty of work ahead so it's just as well she's fortified herself with the advertised product.

Kellogg's Crunchy Nut
"Silent Ad"
60s
26 Apr 2015
There's some fantastic attention to detail in this crafty commercial for Kellogg's Crunchy Nut which spoofs 1922 horror movie Nosferatu. Our familiarity with this campaign could easily weigh down each new execution but - by coming up with ideas as strong as this - creative Hugh Todd has ensured that the audience can congratulate itself for guessing what's about to happen.

Purdey's
"Thrive On"
2 mins 35s
26 Apr 2016
Even when Idris Elba is at his most genial, his imposing presence still makes you think he's going to break into John Luther or Stringer Bell if you don't give him the answer he wants. Luckily, the participants in this engaging film for health drink Purdey's needn't worry as Elba has an ostensibly simple question to ask: "What do you want to be when you grow up?"

Save The Children
"Every Last Child"
60s
26 Apr 2016
This astonishing film for Save The Children (STC) is quite unlike any other charity ad we've seen. The frantic pace of the editing and its first person POV is truly visceral: not only does the spot completely immerse us in the action from the start but we feel giddy and breathless at its urgency. Right down to the super at the end assuring us that nearly every penny of our donation goes to the STC, not a single frame or image is wasted. Stunning work.

Hallmark Cards
"No Ordinary Mom"
1 min 40s
26 Apr 2016
Sentimentality is a property mishandled by many. Not that it requires elongated tongs and a hazmat suit, but too much schmaltz is capable of hefty damage. It pays therefore to bring in an expert like Rattling Stick's Pete Riski to handle proceedings, and this moving film for Hallmark delivers a Mother's Day message with just the right amount of sugar stirred in for good measure.

Army Recruitment
"Everest Chapter Two"
30s
26 Apr 2006
The next step in the Army's attempts to conquer Everest via its toughest route is documented here with much emphasis on the need for teamwork and the absolute reliance of one man on another.

Birds Eye
"Salmon Colouring"
40s
26 Apr 2006
The investigations into Birds Eye's food (and fish in general) continues with this ad that examines the use of colouring to make farmed salmon look as pink as the wild salmon found in the Pacific (which is, apparently, the only Salmon that Birds Eye uses in its products).

Foster's
"Cloud Followers"
10s
26 Apr 2006
Brief post script to earlier ad has a whole crowd of Foster's drinkers walking at close quarters to one another to stay in the shadow of a tiny cloud that is helping to keep their beer cold on a hot day at the beach as several women look on in amazement.

EA Sports
"World Cup Dream"
20s
26 Apr 2006
Two lads talk about their World Cup dream with some enthusiasm as we see scenes from a video game made by EA Sports. The two become increasingly animated as they describe the goal and in the end celebrate as if they had scored it themselves.

Toyota Yaris
"Water Fall"
30s
26 Apr 2007
Now here's a thing. Unlike in the other ads in this campaign, the act of revenge this time is perpetrated by a man on another man thus scuppering our theory that the Yaris is marketed specifically at women. Oddly, though, we can't help thinking this would work better if the avenger was female.

Quest
"Bear Grylls"
30s
26 Apr 2010
An excellent trailer for the wilderness enthusiast whose name sounds like a delicious Canadian snack. The overly earnest explorer makes his way across a metal landscape that turns out to be giant letters spelling out the word 'discovery'.

ChemDry
"Get Cleanified"
30s
26 Apr 2010
Two men stood on chairs explain that ChemDry has told them that their carpets will be dry in just one hour after it's been cleaned. Presumably, this is supposed to be a gay couple. Not because of they way they act... just because they care about clean carpets.

Waitrose
"Stilton"
60s
26 Apr 2010
Another charming collection of bumpers advertising Waitrose's sponsorship of food programming on Channel 4. In this series, two children try some Stilton and demonstrate some interesting views on the use of mould.

KFC
"Female Chef"
33s
26 Apr 2010
KFC once again pitches the claim that their food is surprisingly wholesome. A young woman showcases the gadgets that enables the chain to produce coffee and warm buns before explaining that the chicken is coated with flour by hand.

Three
"Cup"
20s
26 Apr 2010
To illustrate the claim that the advertised mobile phone network provides things we never thought possible, we see a young man who has knocked a mug of tea off the table in front of him and is amazed as it freezes in mid-air.

Three
"Jump"
20s
26 Apr 2010
A young man reacts instinctively when he sees a truck approaching a giant puddle as he walks down the street but he doesn't immediately realise that he's jumped on top of a bus shelter to dodge the splash. Anything's possible with the three mobile network.

Three
"Pen"
20s
26 Apr 2010
A young woman can't find a pen in her office and searches frantically for one so she can write something down while on the phone. When she spies one on another desk she's amazed to see it fly gently towards her. Anything's possible with Three.

Thomson Holidays
"Flowers"
30s
26 Apr 2010
Another outing for the campaign which seeks to demonstrate the care and attention paid by Thomson to our comfort when we buy one of their package holidays. This probably works for people attracted to this kind of holiday but it all looks a bit creepy to the rest of us.

Dulux
"Baby Sam"
30s
26 Apr 2010
The voiceover explains that Baby Sam was supposed to be a football hero before revealing that 'he' turned out to be a 'she'. Um, isn't it a bit old-fashioned to suggest a woman couldn't be a star of the beautiful game? Lovingly directed nonetheless.

Watford Creative Advertising Course
"George & Fred"
2 mins 40s
29 Apr 2010
It's always fun when the advertising industry takes a quick look in the mirror and this ad for Watford College's famous advertising course does through a wonderfully darkened piece of glass. Follow the progress of George and Fred as they seek recognition for their work.

Gardaland
"Run"
45s
26 Apr 2011
This ad for an Italian theme park makes it clear that one of their rides is as scary as being chased through the woods by an extra-terrestrial predator. If that's the kind of thing that grabs your fancy then you'll probably find this ad persuasive as it captures the sense of terror rather well.

On This Day

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.