David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

What have you done to David Reviews?

A lot. As well as all the cosmetic changes, we've updated all the gubbins behind the scenes and you should now find that your searches are much faster than they were.

The changes are going to enable us to enhance the service over the coming weeks and months - we hope you'll like what you see.

Speaking of searches, what's happened to the advanced search?

It's coming back. Having made such a fundamental overhaul of the whole site, we've had to rebuild everything from scratch and although we planned to complete this task over the Christmas break, we didn't quite manage it.

An improved version of the 'advanced search' will be in place by Monday 27th January.

Where are the news stories?

We're being sent more and more news stories all the time and we want to do them justice. By 24th January, they will have been re-introduced and we think you'll like the new format.

It sounds like it's been a lot of work?

It's good of you to notice.

You wouldn't believe how much work it's been. Managing the transition while continuing to stay up to date with all the latest work has been a Herculean task. But we're getting there.

When will the newsletter be back? We love the newsletter.

The Newsletter is now back. If you're not receiving it, please email us.

And we're glad you like the newsletter... we like it too.

Who is David?

When we first launched in 2002, we were selling DVD subscriptions and DaViD was a complex acronym that stood for 'advertising intelligence on DVD'. It also enabled us to position ourselves as 'David' against the 'Goliath' that was Xtreme Information. Are they still going?

When we launched the web site, it turned out that our audience liked it better than the DVDs so we switched our focus to that and even though the name didn't really make sense any more we kept it.

Can I call you David when I phone?

Why the hell not... everyone else does?

Where are my lists?

The lists are now back online and you can add to them and create new lists. Soon you'll be able to change the running order and delete clips from lists.

Aren't you going to have to amend this page as soon as you've delivered all these promises?

Er, good point. Or sneakily move the dates if we don't quite make it.

We don't have a subscription. How much does it cost?

A Standard Company subscription costs £599 plus VAT (if applicable) and a Premium subscription costs £999 plus VAT (if applicable). Just phone Jason Stone on 0141 776 7766.

Don't you have some kind of e-commerce so we can buy online?

It's a-coming.

QUESTIONS

What's happened to the advanced search?

Where are the news stories?

When will you start sending the newsletter again?

Who is David?

How much for a subscription?
QUICK SEARCH

On This Day
(1-25 of 25)

Nike
"Short A Guy"
90s
16 Jul 2015
The concept of a timeout doesn't apply in this exhilarating ad for Nike. A skate down the street leads one athletic kid to become the extra man for one team sport after another. In a flash, he's kitted up and ready to go. Having grown used to Nike and other brands focusing their attention on the big guns of basketball and both kinds of football, it's refreshing to see sports like volleyball and lacrosse receive their frenetic moment in the spotlight too.

Sky Sports
"Greatest Moments"
90s
16 Jul 2015
Sky and the English Premier League have been synonymous since 1992 and to mark the upcoming 2015/16 season, Thierry Henry walks through some of the league's most iconic moments. It's a great way of adding a fresh twist to so many familiar moments, with Henry revisiting everything from the Liverpool-Newcastle thriller of '96 to his own historic unbeaten season as a player.

Tango
"Boo Tang Enhancer"
3 mins 20s
16 Jul 2015
This campaign has really established itself quickly, and the online clips which spoof channels like QVC are terrific. This is our favourite for its sublime blend of ridiculousness and authenticity. The spot-on casting makes the discussion of the 'Boo Tang Enhancement Package' even funnier ("I have a similar box at home and I keep cheese in it.") - the yawning chasms of awkward silences plastered

Channel 4
"Underdog"
90s
16 Jul 2015
The "scrappy, feisty" station that is Channel 4 has made this lovely spot to justify its very raison d'Ítre. And very eloquently it's been done too despite the fact that the interviewer in search of answers is a dog in a suit. Well-known C4 faces - from Jon Snow and Kevin McCloud to Katherine Parkinson and Gogglebox's own Siddiqui family - feed us snippets of information while our interviewer eats his microphone.

KFC
"The Whole Chicken"
60s
16 Jul 2017
When you see that someone has been credited as 'chicken choreographer' you know that you're about to watch something out of left field. And so it proved when DAVID hit the play button and discovered what Mother is doing for the first KFC television campaign since they won the account.

Clerical Medical
"Where the Heart Is Sponsorship"
75s
16 Jul 2006
Mischievous oldies are depicted in this amusing sponsorship slots which use dolls to replace live actors in a cunning plan to deliver the films for a very reasonable budget while adding to rather than detracting from their comic effectiveness.

Dodge Caliber
"Anything But Cute"
30s
16 Jul 2006
A bunch of puppets offer their verdict on the new Dodge Caliber. They have grave reservations because it is not a cute and cuddly car... indeed, one of them goes so far as to suggest it made her wet her pants. Fortunately this was exactly the response the focus group was looking for.

Pimm's
"Festival"
20s
16 Jul 2007
Alexander Amstrong brings his unique posh anarchy to a music festival were, typically, he eschews the conventions of the event by bringing the trappings of luxury via hot air balloon. The regulars are won over when he starts dishing out the Pimm's.

Anta Sport
"Runner"
60s
16 Jul 2007
China is clearly getting ready for next year's Olympics and this ad gives some sense of the jubilation each medal won by the hosts will generate. The whole nation seems to stop in its tracks to celebrate an unseen victory. Meanwhile a lone athlete trains in the hope it will, one day, be he.

The Guardian
"Beach Dude"
10s
16 Jul 2007
Another skilful use of a meagre budget for the UK's only newspaper contrasts the new British approach to the beach with the old in cunning fashion as a surfer heading towards the sea and is converted into a less edifying beach dweller as he passes a deckchair.

Andrex
"Car"
20s
16 Jul 2007
A more stylish presentation than we have been accustomed to from this advertiser shows what happens when a child in a car gets hold of one of the new longer toilet rolls... the youngster trails the stuff out of the window giving the appearance of a massive white tail.

Cancerfonden (Sweden)
"Insect"
45s
16 Jul 2007
The idea that cancer research can provide hope is conveyed in unusual fashion in this film from Sweden which shows how an insect that has stunned itself by flying into a lab window survives long enough to be revived by a breath of fresh air and is then able to fly away into the fields.

B Sky B
"Evan Almighty"
30s
16 Jul 2007
American comedy actor Steve Carrell gets to promote his new movie and save the planet in this specially commissioned spot which exploits the distinctive skills of Sherbet director Matt Abbiss to annotated footage of Carrell speaking to underline everything he says... and then some.

Channel 4 News
"Why?"
60s
16 Jul 2007
For all the criticism of the dumbing down of Channel 4's output (much of which is justified), it can be offset in generous proportions by the station's superb news programming. Anchored in every sense by Jon Snow, it is a beacon of integrity and this is captured beautifully in this trail.

Learning & Skills Council
"Train To Gain"
30s
16 Jul 2007
Another outing for the innovative technique from the previous ad has a speeding lorry made out of a fist to illustrate how a business can be making its way along swimmingly. But without a trained workforce it will flounder, so it's time for business to make its contribution.

Ford Fiesta
"Dogbot In The Snow"
30s
16 Jul 2007
DAVID has a bit of a soft spot for the dogbot ads. The slapstick here is cleverly realised and setting it off by having the artificial beast adhering its tongue to its frozen hind-quarters was inspired. More importantly, all this messing about is used to make a substantial product claim.

RAF
"Components"
40s
16 Jul 2007
The RAF attempts to once gain tackle the perennial problem they face when recruiting that those minded to join the forces imagine that if they don't want to be a pilot then the RAF is not for them. A very dramatic device is used here to illustrate that the RAF needs capable personnel who are not seeking wings.

BUPA
"Pam and Ron"
30s
16 Jul 2007
Another animated excursion for BUPA tells how Pam and Ron parked Pam's 80-year old mother at a BUPA care home so they could take a holiday in Italy. The old dear had such a wonderful time there that she thought about sending them a postcard... well, they can get confused at that age.

Trocaire
"Interview"
40s
16 Jul 2009
This film for an Irish charity which operates in the Third World takes the form of an interview for a new worker. The employer lists the various abuses which the worker will face in a candid fashion before the camera reveals the most shocking part of all. The employer lists the various abuses which the worker will face in a candid fashion before the camera reveals the most shocking part of all.

Go Sky Ride
"Get Back On Your Bike"
30s
16 Jul 2010
Sky is promoting a scheme which will enable cyclists to enjoy the freedom of the city streets by banning cars for a while. Some of the recent marketing tie-ins are inexplicable and this has to count among them.

ESPN - Nascar
"Invincible"
60s
16 Jul 2010
MJZ's Rupert Sanders makes brilliant use of special effects in this American ad for one of the US's premier racing car events. A gravelly voiceover rather undermines the overall impact but if you wholly concentrate on the visuals then it's dazzling.

Mazda MX5
"Once Driven Thrills Are Harder To Find - Buffalo"
20s
16 Jul 2010
One of a pair of new ads which seek to demonstrate that you'll need to find new ways of getting a high after you've driven the advertised car. A pair of men whoop it up as they ride bison in a charging herd in a desperate bid for excitement.

Mazda MX5
"Once Driven Thrills Are Harder To Find - Whale"
20s
16 Jul 2010
One of a pair of new ads which seek to demonstrate that you'll need to find new ways of getting a high after you've driven the advertised car. In this execution, a man takes a dramatic ride aboard a whale thanks to some clever post-production jiggery-pokery.

Sky
"Eric Cantona"
60s
16 Jul 2010
Eric Cantona is cleverly superimposed into moments of sporting history allowing the footballer turned actor to pass comment from the sidelines. Cantona is compelling as ever and the technique is clever... and he even gets to make a joke about seagulls.

Kellogg's Crunchy Nut
"Snake"
30s
16 Jul 2012
An Australian team is attempting to deal with a deadly snake in the latest ad for Kellogg's Crunchy Nut. The irresistibility of the product is the focus once again as the need for complete quiet is inevitably defeated by a member of the crew being unable to resist the temptation.

On This Day
(1-25 of 25)

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.