David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

What have you done to David Reviews?

A lot. As well as all the cosmetic changes, we've updated all the gubbins behind the scenes and you should now find that your searches are much faster than they were.

The changes are going to enable us to enhance the service over the coming weeks and months - we hope you'll like what you see.

Speaking of searches, what's happened to the advanced search?

It's coming back. Having made such a fundamental overhaul of the whole site, we've had to rebuild everything from scratch and although we planned to complete this task over the Christmas break, we didn't quite manage it.

An improved version of the 'advanced search' will be in place by Monday 27th January.

Where are the news stories?

We're being sent more and more news stories all the time and we want to do them justice. By 24th January, they will have been re-introduced and we think you'll like the new format.

It sounds like it's been a lot of work?

It's good of you to notice.

You wouldn't believe how much work it's been. Managing the transition while continuing to stay up to date with all the latest work has been a Herculean task. But we're getting there.

When will the newsletter be back? We love the newsletter.

The Newsletter is now back. If you're not receiving it, please email us.

And we're glad you like the newsletter... we like it too.

Who is David?

When we first launched in 2002, we were selling DVD subscriptions and DaViD was a complex acronym that stood for 'advertising intelligence on DVD'. It also enabled us to position ourselves as 'David' against the 'Goliath' that was Xtreme Information. Are they still going?

When we launched the web site, it turned out that our audience liked it better than the DVDs so we switched our focus to that and even though the name didn't really make sense any more we kept it.

Can I call you David when I phone?

Why the hell not... everyone else does?

Where are my lists?

The lists are now back online and you can add to them and create new lists. Soon you'll be able to change the running order and delete clips from lists.

Aren't you going to have to amend this page as soon as you've delivered all these promises?

Er, good point. Or sneakily move the dates if we don't quite make it.

We don't have a subscription. How much does it cost?

A Standard Company subscription costs £599 plus VAT (if applicable) and a Premium subscription costs £999 plus VAT (if applicable). Just phone Jason Stone on 0141 776 7766.

Don't you have some kind of e-commerce so we can buy online?

It's a-coming.

QUESTIONS

What's happened to the advanced search?

Where are the news stories?

When will you start sending the newsletter again?

Who is David?

How much for a subscription?
QUICK SEARCH

On This Day

Talk Talk
"Model Britain"
60s
23 Sep 2012
This beautifully constructed commercial uses model figures to illustrate the lure of home. John Denver's 'Annie's Song' proves a suitable musical accompaniment and adds another layer of emotionality to a sentimental treatment. But it's odd that broadband is being advertised the way coal used to be.

Barclays
"Looking At Someone"
40s
23 Sep 2014
Picking up from their Digital Eagles programme which sees a team from Barclays help older folk to become more tech-savvy, this visits the other end of the spectrum - youngsters who may know their way around a keyboard but might not have a clue about communication. One of a series, this is excellent because it demonstrates the effectiveness of the thing it asks its audience to do.

Wrangler
"Born Ready"
60s
23 Sep 2015
Wrangler Jeans aim to shake loose their cowboy image by appealing to Millennials looking to add a little adventure to their lives. The brand is happy that young folk are ditching lattes and wi-fi for the weekend, but that doesn’t mean they don’t have misgivings about their preparation skills. A rare presence, Wrangler increase their European presence in assured fashion.

Lil-lets
"The Cubicle"
80s
3 Oct 2015
Finally it looks like we may be moving into an era where 'sanitary products' - as they have been euphemistically referred to since time immemorial - are no longer a topic of shame and mortification. Thanks to this extremely shrewd campaign featuring well-known characters Lydia and Ferne from TOWIE, tampons are on the verge of being rehabilitated as items that women can be open and matter-of-fact about, and which men can ask about without seeming weird.

Tilda
"Sanjay"
30s
23 Sep 2007
This ad plays out like a sketch from Goodness Gracious Me. An Indian woman talks of the shame brought upon her by her son Sanjay who has started using a new variant of Tilda rice which can make perfect Basmati rice in a microwave in just two minutes.

Super Solo
"Thirst Hurts"
70s
23 Sep 2007
Life is cruel. A young man emits a strange folk music whenever he opens his mouth after downing a bottle of Super Solo. Just as this strange phenomenon begins to ruin his life, he discovers an upside beyond his wildest imaginings. Sadly, it is at this very moment that the music ceases to play.

Adidas
"Dan Carter"
60s
23 Sep 2007
When 180 were in New Zealand shooting an Adidas commercial, they enjoyed the hospitality of All Black Dan Carter and his family so much that they stayed behind to film this viral which shows Carter and his father reminiscing about the rugby player's earliest efforts to kick a goal in his back garden.

Nissan Juke
"Twinkle Twinkle"
40s
23 Sep 2010
This visually striking ad shows the advertised car bringing the city to life as it drives through. There's a suggestion that this is a car that's fun to drive in urban settings and it's pretty successfully put across. It's a common enough way of selling cars these day but nicely done here.

B & Q
"Paint Your Bedroom"
30s
23 Sep 2010
A Dad has his patience tested by his daughter who can't decide whether she wants her bedroom painted pink or blue. Luckily, B & Q are able to help by providing samples but this doesn't entirly solve the problems of the protagonist as his daughter settles for a different colour altogether.

Sainsbury's
"Taste The Difference"
40s
23 Sep 2010
Jamie Oliver's in exuberant form in this excellent celebration of Sainsbury's premium range. He walks through the steer where long trestle tables have been set up to feed people with offerings from orange supermarket's Taste The Difference range. Apparently, there are over a thousand different products to choose from these days.

Sainsbury's
"Pie"
30s
23 Sep 2011
More from the charming campaign that introduced us to a father and his son last week. Here, the two are baking a pie and there's a wonderful earnestness about the expression on the young lad's face as he contemplates his father's concentration.

French Rail Network
"Miniature Railway"
45s
23 Sep 2011
This lovely French commercial shows how a new railway is being built while sustaining the existing infrastructure. Model trains are used to underline this proposition but British viewers may still find this idea too baffling to understand as they live in a country where a single falling leaf can bring the entire transport system to its knees.

Santander
"Shrewsbury"
40s
23 Sep 2012
The bankers of Santander descended on Shrewsbury to see if they could save its residents a million pounds while they were there. This feel-good glance at how it was done manages to convey the idea that the whole of the Shropshire town got wrapped up in the excitement.

Andrex
"Puppy Points"
30s
23 Sep 2012
DAVID doesn't think he's ever been quite so please to see a puppy as he was when he watched the new Andrex commercial. Someone immensely sensible has ditched the CGI puppies and replace them with the real thing – we only hope that this move is permanent and we can expect to see genuine animals from this point forward.

Free Radio
"Hamster"
30s
23 Sep 2012
A hamster is doing the things that hamsters do until it gets a blast of the advertised radio station. It then jumps down and begins dancing on its hind legs producing a series of moves that wouldn't look out of place at a school disco. It's a fun way to draw attention to a broadcaster most of us won't have heard of.

Compare The Market
"Window Cleaner"
40s
23 Sep 2012
Jim Draper is a window cleaner going about his business when he is accosted by Alexandr Orlov. The meerkat spokesman reveals that Draper's decision to use the advertised website has earned him a new stuffed toy which is delivered to him by one of Orlov's confederates aboard a specially-adapted rig.

FIFA 13
"Join The Club"
30s
23 Sep 2012
Lionel Messi greets a young man who has been invited to "join the club" in this commercial for the latest release of the FIFA series of football-based video games. Despite giving the impression he'd rather be doing something else, we suspect the diminutive Argentine is a model professional on a film set.

H & M
"Blue Velvet"
30s
23 Sep 2012
Lana Del Ray provides a stylised version of the song Blue Velvet in this commercial which quietly pays tribute to David Lynch's film of the same name. From the way they advertise themselves, you would imagine H & M to be an exclusive boutique available only to those carrying platinum credit cards... it's arguable whether this projection does them any favours.

Sainsbury's
"Fish Finger Sandwiches"
30s
23 Sep 2013
Orange Supermarket demonstrates that you can make the humble fish finger appear relatively sophisticated with a bit of artful positioning on freshly-sliced bread and a drizzle of their tartare sauce in this - ahem - tastefully shot spot.

Co-op Supermarkets
"The Great Pretender"
30s
23 Sep 2013
A woman rushes home to prepare tea, which is a ready meal from the Co-op. She doesn't want to appear lazy, so she makes a pretence of having made it from scratch; right down to the smudge of spice on her cheek. Plainly, the Co-op wants us to believe their convenience foods are just like homemade meals.

Sainsbury's Mobile
"Rescue Calls"
30s
23 Sep 2013
A solid way to bring home the message that a mobile tariff from Orange Supemarket is a sensible way to stay in touch affordably. Here, mum is at the end of the line to help deal with various offspring crises from missing trunks to boyfriend woes.

Barclays
"Erm"
40s
23 Sep 2014
Another lovely spot for Barclays' Life Skills project. In this ad, an engaging young chap called Michael tells us about his habit and how important it was that he ditched it. The habit? Starting every sentence with 'erm' or 'aah'. The simple demonstration of the difference it makes to other people's perception of you when you hesitate is clear and suggests confident speaking is encouragingly do-able.

Smirnoff
"Filter Out The Unnecessary"
60s
23 Sep 2014
After searching high and wide for a bar full of suitably appalling members of the Shoreditch taleban, we'd imagine the agency suddenly realised they could film this in their in-house bar. It's good to see advertising folk leading the charge against pretentiousness... perhaps it'll inspire City bankers to launch a crusade against greed. Joking aside, it's lovingly made and does make perfect sense for this brand.

Audible
"Clare Balding"
30s
23 Sep 2014
Oh Clare. It's at moments like these we can see why you're a national treasure. Amazon's talking book company has massively improved its advertising with this spot, which has Ms Balding gently sending herself up as she reads her book aloud to people engaged in various activities. The selected lines are increasingly priceless, as is the moment she pops up in bed.

Compare The Market
"Bumpers"
40s
23 Sep 2015
These lovely Meerkat bumpers for Coronation Street are brief but amusing spoofs of famous movies, as befits the brand's promotion of 2 for 1 cinema tickets. Zombies, aliens and classic westerns are all fodder for the seconds-long spots, and all take place on the well-trodden cobbles of the Street. Hilda will be spinning in her grave.

On This Day

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.