David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

PPL
"Isn't This Life Enough?"
60s
20 January 2014
USA Power Utility Companies

Scottish band Admiral Fallow have adapted their own song Isn't This World Enough? for this feel-good ad for an American power company. It's a heart-warming collage of imagery and successfully conveys the idea that the reliable and easily-controlled energy provided by PPL is something that provides comfort to its customers.

Google Nexus
"Oven Woe"

Martin said:

indeed they do!


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

Latest Work

P & O Ferries
"Your Trip, Your Ship"
30s
16 Apr 2015
This spot for P & O Ferries gains its charm from the neat animation illustrating the benefits of their offer. Primary colours dominate in a cheery representation of what it's like to make your way across the Irish Sea aboard one of their vessels. For authenticity, it should probably show a group of green-faced students furtively drinking from a two litre bottle of Diamond White while sat belligerently in a carpeted corridor adorned by swirls of dried vomit.

Colman's
"Awkward"
20s
18 Apr 2015
Further proof that adam&eveDDB are masters of the domestic domain. In just twenty seconds we learn that a young woman is meeting the daughter of her new beau and that they're both feeling awkward about the situation. However, thanks to the comforting food provided by Colman's new meal kits, potential disaster is avoided and the first tentative steps towards friendship are taken.

SSE
"Broadband Offer"
30s
18 Apr 2015
SSE's much-talked about CGI orang utan is back and he's brought news of an interesting development... apparently if you commit to the advertised company for your gas and electricity needs, you can have two years of free broadband. While this diversification may seem like a good idea, has no one noticed that in science fiction dystopias, there's always a single evil corporation running everything?

B & Q
"Paint Pros"
30s
17 Apr 2015
Another lovely piece of camp nonsense for B & Q suggesting their staff are ready for anything ambitious punters can throw at them. Word of advice to B & Q: to avoid all-round disappointment, watch this commercial and then take the necessary steps required to make your staff as helpful as they appear in it. As things stand, your staff are vying with prisoners at Guantanamo Bay for the title of 'most unhappy people forced to wear orange'.

Compare The Market
"Meerkat Movies Bumpers"
35s
17 Apr 2015
The Meerkat Movies proposition has been imported into Compare the Market's sponsorship of Coronation Street and the amusing bumpers in this short compilation are all movie-themed. We particularly like Sergei's confusion when he sees a prop designed to look like a patisserie and his subsequent efforts to track down the missing cake.

Hungry House
"Firecracker"
20s
17 Apr 2015
By concentrating on a single provider of takeaway food, this straightforward piece of advertising actually does a pretty good job. It's not implausible to imagine that a restaurateur like the fella in this ad will be responsible for getting your food to you when you use the advertised service and - by the looks of the food we see - most of us could live with that.

The Guardian
"Two Men"
30s
16 Apr 2015
This truthiness of this situation will be recognised by many. Two women (or men) who are friends drag their significant others along to a social occasion but the newly-introduced pair find they have nothing in common. The awkwardness of the scenario has been well caught by this amusing ad and its point is well made... own your weekend or someone else will.

nPower
"Technology"
3 mins 20s
18 Apr 2015
Of all the ads we've seen so far in nPower's campaign, this feels like the most successful. We think that if an audience were present, the gags would get a laugh - which helps make it easier to watch. As we've said elsewhere, a comic needs an audience to guide their performance or it's as painful as watching them die onstage while a crowd sit stonyfaced.

TSB
"Local Banking On Demand"
30s
16 Apr 2015
Older punters will remember the days when the local bank manager had considerable clout and any suggestion of a return to that model ought to stir a bit of excitement. After all, algorithm-based centralised decision-making is arbitrary... so TSB are astute to tap into the idea of a return to old-fashioned values. Sadly, it isn't particularly true.

Ronseal
"Boring"
20s
18 Apr 2015
Another in the new Ronseal campaign driving home the benefits of using a product that's so straightforward and reliable you hardly have to think about it. Indeed, it's so simple that your biggest concern is getting out of the stupid clothes you wear for doing your DIY projects. Very nice - for most of us, that's exactly the level of thought we want to put into fence painting.

Garnier
"Ultimate Blends"
30s
15 Apr 2015
We're not sure if this is an edited version of a longer ad, because it seems to assume we're already familiar with what it presents as "the great British workout" which it then stops referencing to tell us we can keep our hair in shape. What catches our attention though is the package design for the range - straight out of the mid 1970s.

Cillit Bang
"Lime Quarry"
30s
15 Apr 2015
Oh, Barry. It's always a pleasure to see you, even if we know you're not actually called Barry and you don't shout everything in real life. This time our Cillit Bang enthusiast is in a lime quarry to drum home the notion that limescale deposit is hard to shift. The science bit has Bazzer dissolving a lump of rock in a tank of the product, which "makes mincemeat" of it. How very disconcerting.

Ronseal
"Front Door"
20s
16 Apr 2015
Ronseal's famous line - one of UK advertising's most memorable and enduring - is still going strong in the latest work for the brand. Rather than relying exclusively on "does exactly what it says on the tin", the ads explain what the proposition means to punters - in this case, the certainty that this woman won't have to think about painting her front door for another decade.

BNP Paribas
"Love"
75s
19 Apr 2015
It's rare to see a film that combines comedy and contemporary dance but in the latest addition to a winning series for BNP Paribas, director Koen Mortier has done just that. A love-struck couple can't keep their hands off one another and - at first - this appears to invoke the height of romance as they writhe sexily with one another as though appealingly joined at the hip.

Lurpak
"Freestyle"
60s
19 Apr 2015
It's little wonder that advertisers have taken to asking agencies if they could make something that looks a little 'Lurpak-y'. This is simply superb. Each director who's had a crack at making one of these has brought something pretty special to the table, and each in turn seems to be the apotheosis... until the next one comes along.

BT
"Behind the Scenes"
2 mins
17 Apr 2015
BT's new campaign starring Ewen McGregor was launched over the weekend with back-to-back showings of the first two commercials. McGregor plays himself as a group of comedy advertising folk (including Bluestone 42's Katie Lyons) try to work out the best way to exploit his celebrity for the BT cause.

Irn Bru
"Train Loo"
5 mins
17 Apr 2015
A typically cheek addition to the Irn Bru canon has a young man taking disaster in his stride after a generous slurp of the advertised drink. Not only does he restore his confidence sufficiently for him to consider turning his embarrassment to his advantage, he's even willing to let a stranger park his bike where the sun don't shine.

B & Q
"Bold Banana"
10s
16 Apr 2015
In this amusing short, B & Q boast that they can mix any colour we want so long as they can scan it. The assistant happily uses a child's toy to create a shade of pink before he's surprised by a banana being pushed into his hand by a big ape. We can tell the fella's an actor rather than one of the retailer's famously miserable staff because of the good humour with which all of this is done.

Cadbury Dairy Milk
"Spoons"
30s
16 Apr 2015
Deadpan performances delivered directly into the camera raise this well above what it might have been and as soon as we find out which director to lavish praise upon, we'll do so. A pair of dinner ladies grab some spoons and begin providing an accompaniment to 1990s hit 'Get Ready for this'. If the duo seem expert then that's because they are... indeed, one of the two women, Marylyn Campbell, has been playing the spoons for thirty-six years.

Orbis Access
"Snap Out Of It "
60s
16 Apr 2015
This is impressive but it feels very, very familiar, n'est pas? Answers on a postcard please. And - while we applaud the attention-grabbing sequence that occupies the bulk of the commercial - we can't help feeling a bit disappointed when we learn what it's trying to sell us (even though we're not 100% sure exactly what it is).

Pizza Hut
"Imposter"
30s
16 Apr 2015
When Tom comes home, he discovers an imposter sharing pizza with his girlfriend and is plainly astonished that she hasn't notice he's not the real deal. It's the absurdity of the disguise, of course, that makes this so funny... but we also love the way he crashes through the wall when it's evident that the game's up.

Cycling Canada
"Hop On"
60s
16 Apr 2015
This Canadian film urging people to take to two wheels to explore their magnificent landscapes is a little over-reliant on its impressive imagery. Thanks to some first rate jiggery pokery, we're treated to the marvellous spectacle of riderless bikes charging along wide-open spaces but - without reading the press release - we probably wouldn't know why.

Jumping Jack
"Portable Chargers"
30s
15 Apr 2015
Our ever-increasing reliance on batteries has created an opportunity for products that can recharge our devices when we're caught short. The proposition here is intriguing... how can a piece of kit suitable for charging a car battery be gentle enough to charge a mobile phone without sending it into a nearby field? Maybe that's where they got the name from.

Homebase
"C4 Food Sponsorship"
10s
13 Apr 2015
Fitting in perfectly with their excellent TVC work, this sponsorship bumper for Homebase reveals that the DIY retailer is supporting food programming on Channel 4. Attractively filmed and with a clear connection to the main advertising strand both because of the music and the overall look. Efficient.

UPS
"Problem Solving"
60s
14 Apr 2015
According to this impressive-looking piece of corporate gobbledegook for UPS, what the courier company relishes more than anything else is the opportunity to deal with the tricky jobs. So this is a 'call to arms' for impractical packages! That'll raise a few eyebrows in their depots where - we can assure you - they favour absolutely straight-forward delivery jobs.

Latest Work

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.